Located near Muscat main entrance, the
Cultural Centre emerges from a unique
landscape, between the sea and the
mountains, as an oasis where palm trees and
mineral colonnades offer cool and haded
public spaces.
 

This new cultural district brings together three major buildings around a wide, central square: the Oman National Theatre, including a 1,000-seat auditorium and a 250-seat flexible auditorium; the 20,000 sqm five-story National Library; and the National Archives partially open to the public, including nearly twenty kilometers of archival shelf-displays. The complex also features an exhibition centre, a cultural centre and a cinema.

With reference to Omani architecture, a musharabieh canopy covers all the buildings. While filtering sunbeams, this canopy creates plays of light and shadow that echo the reflections and sparkles of the water features.

 The Muscat Cultural Centre pays tribute to local architectural traditions. The building embodies an ambitious project, where past and present harmoniously complement one another.

This new cultural district brings together three major buildings around a wide, central square: the Oman National Theatre, including a 1,000-seat auditorium and a 250-seat flexible auditorium; the 20,000 sqm five-story National Library; and the National Archives partially open to the public, including nearly twenty kilometers of archival shelf-displays. The complex also features an exhibition centre, a cultural centre and a cinema.

With reference to Omani architecture, a musharabieh canopy covers all the buildings. While filtering sunbeams, this canopy creates plays of light and shadow that echo the reflections and sparkles of the water features.

Client :

Ministère de la Culture et du Patrimoine, Sultanat d'Oman

Equipe :

Architecturestudio, Gulf Engineering, Setec Bâtiment, AVA Ecocités, MDP

Programme :

Centre culturel

Surface :

70 000 m²

Statut :

En cours

Situé près de l’entrée principale de
Mascate, le Centre Culturel émerge
dans un paysage unique, entre mer et
montagnes tel une oasis où palmiers et
colonnades tissent des espaces publics frais
et ombragés.
 

Ce nouveau quartier culturel regroupe trois bâtiments majeurs autour d’une vaste place centrale : le Théâtre national d’Oman comprenant un auditorium de 1000 places et une salle flexible de 250 places, la Bibliothèque nationale de 20 000 m² répartis sur cinq niveaux, et les Archives nationales ouvertes en partie au public, incluant près de vingt kilomètres de linéaires d’archives. Le centre offre également d’autres activités grâce à un centre d’exposition, un centre littéraire et un cinéma.

En référence à l’architecture omanaise, une canopée en moucharabiehs drape l’ensemble des bâtiments et filtre les rayons solaires en créant de multiples jeux d’ombres et de lumières auxquels répondent les reflets et scintillements des plans d’eau.

En hommage aux traditions architecturales locales, le Centre Culturel de Mascate incarne un projet ambitieux où l'Histoire et le présent se complètent harmonieusement.

Ce nouveau quartier culturel regroupe trois bâtiments majeurs autour d’une vaste place centrale : le Théâtre national d’Oman comprenant un auditorium de 1000 places et une salle flexible de 250 places, la Bibliothèque nationale de 20 000 m² répartis sur cinq niveaux, et les Archives nationales ouvertes en partie au public, incluant près de vingt kilomètres de linéaires d’archives. Le centre offre également d’autres activités grâce à un centre d’exposition, un centre littéraire et un cinéma.

En référence à l’architecture omanaise, une canopée en moucharabiehs drape l’ensemble des bâtiments et filtre les rayons solaires en créant de multiples jeux d’ombres et de lumières auxquels répondent les reflets et scintillements des plans d’eau.

Client :

Ministère de la Culture et du Patrimoine, Sultanat d'Oman

Equipe :

Architecturestudio, Gulf Engineering, Setec Bâtiment, AVA Ecocités, MDP

Programme :

Centre culturel

Surface :

70 000 m²

Statut :

En cours