Fragmented into three structures overlooking a wide lane of railway tracks, the Post Office showcases the urban features of a perpetually-active Parisian district by proposing a kinetic architecture in the colours of the French Post Office.

The Post Office and Postal Sorting Centre is located in a complex urban context, at the interface between Boulevard de la Chappelle and the superstructure of the aerial metro, overlooking a major railway node, in the very heart of Paris. In response to these challenging local characteristics, the building is striving to seamlessly integrate within the urban fabric while assertively proclaiming the identity of the French Post.

The project was designed to accommodate a postal sorting centre, a recruitment centre, postal warehouses and a transhipment area. The building consists of three volumes, clearly differentiated and targeted by an individualised architectural approach, both in response to the fragmented morphological context as well as the complexity of a segmented project.
The real estate complex is closely integrated into its environment. On the city side, facing the boulevard, the administrative building and the post office continue the alignment of the neighbouring built masses, reinforcing the perspective of the street. Likewise, at the rear of the plot, the recruitment centre extends the outlines of the existing structures. These two bodies are linked by the sorting centre and its transhipment area. The entire length of the main façade can be seen from the freight train station, revealing itself to a constantly moving cityscape only through the overhead lines, cables, railings and other structures. The façade on the side accessible to the public conveys a strong feeling of dynamism through a large inclined blue wall appearing to be ripped open by the black shaft of a large interior staircase. The emblematic colours of the Postal Corporation, yellow and blue, meet the challenge of the unstructured kinetics created by the incessant flows of the boulevard and the railways. The metal cladding, the lights and the relentless comings and goings of trucks, day and night, reinforce the image of an industrial building that openly proclaims itself as such in the heart of the capital.

Client :

Direction de la Poste de Paris

Equipe :

Architecturestudio, OTH Bâtiment

Programme :

Activités

Surface :

11 000 m²

Coût :

9 150 000 €

Statut :

Livré en 1994

Fragmenté en trois volumes en surplomb d’un large sillon de voies ferrées, le bâtiment révèle les aménités urbaines d’un quartier parisien en perpétuel mouvement en proposant une architecture cinétique aux couleurs de La Poste.

Le Bureau de poste et centre de tri postal se situe dans un contexte urbain complexe, à l’interface entre Boulevard de la Chapelle, la superstructure du métro aérien et en surplomb d’un important sillon de voies ferrées, en plein cœur de Paris. En réponse à ces éléments caractéristiques du quartier, le bâtiment s’attache à couturer le tissu urbain et affirmer l'identité forte de La Poste.

Le projet est conçu pour accueillir un centre de tri postal, un centre de concours, des entrepôts postaux, un bureau de poste et une aire de transbordement. Le bâtiment se découpe en trois volumes clairement dissociés et individualisés dans leur traitement architectural et répond autant à la morphologie éclatée du contexte qu'à la complexité d’un programme fragmenté.
L’ensemble immobilier s’intègre finement dans son environnement. Côté ville, sur le boulevard, le bâtiment administratif et le bureau de poste poursuivent l’alignement des masses bâties voisines et participent à la perspective de la rue. En fond de parcelle, le centre de concours prolonge également les volumétries existantes. Les deux entités sont reliées par le centre de tri et son aire de transbordement. La façade principale s’offre de tout son long à la gare de marchandises et ne se révèle qu'à travers des caténaires, des câbles, des grilles et des structures à un citadin toujours en mouvement. La façade de la partie accessible au public est mise en mouvement par l’inclinaison d’une grande paroi bleue, qui semble éventrée par le fût noir d’un grand escalier intérieur. Les couleurs emblématiques de la Poste, le jaune et le bleu, répondent à une problématique cinétique déstructurée apportée par les flux incessants du boulevard et des chemins de fer. Les bardages métalliques, les lumières et le va et vient constant des camions, de jour comme de nuit, confortent l’image d’un bâtiment industriel qui s’assume comme tel au cœur de la capitale.

Client :

Direction de la Poste de Paris

Equipe :

Architecturestudio, OTH Bâtiment

Programme :

Activités

Surface :

11 000 m²

Coût :

9 150 000 €

Statut :

Livré en 1994